International Puzzle Party IPP38

Nob Yoshigahara Puzzle Design Competition 2018

IPP38 Update: As we have described in previous posts, every year the IPP or International Puzzle Party is held in a secret location across the globe. The annual event is an opportunity for a family mechanical puzzle collectors, designers and craftsmen to puzzle-solve, catch-up, meet and share their dedication and passion for incredible wooden puzzle box enigmas and the very latest puzzles that confuse, befuddle and confuse. The very first International Puzzle Party was established in 1978 by Jerry Slocum, in his living room for a hand-picked selection of collectors.

The year we had the misfortune of not attending due to work commitments, however, the event was nevertheless a great success as always, and offered  a wonderful opportunity for attendees to participate in associated excursions and events, the world famous puzzle exchange, the puzzle party and the prestigious Puzzle Award Ceremony of the Nob Yoshigahara Puzzle Design competition.

The IPP or International Puzzle Party has been held annually since 1978 and moves locations in three-year cycles that take place in the U.S., Europe, and the Far East. This year’s 38th International Puzzle Party was held in in San Diego, California from 8-12 August 2018. The venue for the festivities was the the Wyndham Bayside Hotel.

This year the event was host to a total of 67 designs from around the world.

The Grand Jury 1st Prize
The Grand Jury 1st Prize this year was split between the 5L Box by Hajime Katsumoto and Trinity by Kyoo Wong.
The Puzzle of the Year, Jury Grand Prize and Puzzlers’ Award went to Casino by Volker Latussek.

Jury Honorable Mentions
Jury Honorable Mentions went to:
Auzzle A2 by Ilya V Osipov
Jigsaw Puzzle 29 by Yuu Asaka
Nosey Puzzle by Alexander E Holroyd
TicTac’s Tactics by Eric Harshbarger

Top 10 Vote Getters
The following designs were in the top-10 in voting for the Puzzlers’ Award,
but were not otherwise recognised with a formal Jury prize.

Pack 012 by Osanori Yamamoto
Three Cubes by Ichiro Kohno
Quartet Box by Junichi Yananose
Magnetic Madness by Jerry McFarland
Hydrant by Stephan Baumegger
Wavelinks by Rod Bogart

Happy Puzzling all! (^^)

Images © NickBaxter

Let us know below if you like the look of any of these or have purchased any – TheMetagrobologist

Show More

Related Articles

One Comment

  1. Hi all
    the participants of the annual private puzzle Meeting in Glattbach Germany (sunday 11.11.2018) have the opportunity to play and buy the high awarded IPP design competition winners 2018 “Casino” designed by german puuzledesigner Volker Latussek;
    I exspect for that Event a Group of round about 10-12 People ( coming from Ireland and Germany)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.